Log in

  © 2024 ICLCA | Federal Tax # 39-1641695 | W-9


Membership to ICLCA is required prior to nominating or applying for an award or grant. An affiliate member must also become a member of ICLCA in order to be eligible for awards and grants.

Deadline: March 31, 2022

Keni Zenner

2019 Karen Quinn Institute Scholarship

Coordinator, Academic Assistance, Office of Academic Success, University of Minnesota Morris


Dr. Karen Quinn served as the 1992-93 ICLCA President (then Midwest College Learning Center Association).

Before her untimely death from cancer, she had been a very active leader. She was the driving force behind developing our professional journal, The Learning Assistance Review during her term. A scholar herself, she served as the first co-editor with Dr. Martha Casazza. 

Karen was the director of the Center for Academic Excellence at the University of Illinois-Chicago. Karen participated as a mentor and presenter at the 1993 and 1995 NCLCA Summer Institute at Loyola, Chicago. She was a mentor for the Reading/Writing to Learn component. Karen presented us with large notebook of journal articles on improving learning assistance in writing and reading, her areas of expertise. Her presentation was insightful and extremely helpful.

The ICLCA Summer Institute was changed in 2008 to the ICLCA Institute. ICLCA is honored to name the Karen Quinn Institute Scholarship in Dr. Quinn’s memory.

scholarship description

Are you in your first three years as a learning center professional? The ICLCA Institute gives new learning center staff an opportunity to take a deep dive into the field, alongside a small group of colleagues. During this three-day experience, seasoned learning center professionals and mentors will help you learn and grow in your knowledge of learning center management and development from tutoring to technology–and beyond! 

The Karen Quinn Scholarship is awarded annually to one current ICLCA member who has been a learning center professional for three years or less. The scholarship amount varies annually based on the location and costs associated with the Institute; however, the annual award amount will cover:

  • Lodging for up to 3 nights at the Institute hotel/conference center;

  • All materials (including registration costs) associated with the Institute;

  • Meals (typically breakfast and lunch) that are embedded into the Institute schedule (NOTE: Dinners or ‘Night on the Town’ events are typically ‘on your own’ for Institute attendees, and will not be covered by scholarship funds);

The scholarship recipient will be responsible for: 

  • All travel and travel-related expenses;

  • Meals not covered by the Institute schedule and evening meals/entertainment;

  •  Any incidental hotel expenses that exceed the daily room rate.

The scholarship recipient will be invited to speak briefly to the ICLCA members at the annual conference about their experiences at the Institute.

Nominations must meet the deadlines and general criteria.


All members are welcome to apply for awards and grants. Preference will be given to those who have not won the award in the last 2 years.

Membership to ICLCA is required prior to nominating or applying for an award or grant. An affiliate member must also become a member of ICLCA in order to be eligible for awards and grants.


  • Nominees should be a full-time employee in a learning center.
  • Nominees must have a current membership to ICLCA.
  • Preference will be given to members in their first two years of employment in a learning center environment


The application will consist of:

  • An application letter, not to exceed three pages, sent by the nominee or someone professionally associated with the nominee
  • A letter by the nominee’s supervisor explaining a rationale for the nominee’s financial need for the award
  • The nominee’s resume
  • The nominee's job description

Submit all application materials to profdev@nclca.org

For additional information, please contact profdev@nclca.org


2019 Keni Zenner,  University of Minnesota

2018 Madison Ackerman, SUNY Niagra County Community College

2017 Jami S. Rush, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

2016 Justin Boone, Georgia Institute of Technology

2015 Joshua Mitchell, Iowa State University

2014 Jada Mitchell, Clayton State University

2013 Nicholas Hyer, Virginia Tech

2012 Sara Provis, Loyola University

2011 Michelle Wolf, Winthrop University

2010 Leslie Hargrove, Pima Community College

2009 Wendy Simmerman, Utah Valley University

2008 Peggy Mitchell, Wilmington University

2007 Elizabeth Boretz, University of California Merced

2005 Janice Smith, Penn State Harrisburg

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software